< News

Round #1 Royal Distributing Canadian Cross Country Championship West

June 13, 2013

For Immediate Release – June 12, 2013

This past Sunday the Royal Distributing Canadian Cross Country Championship kicked off the 2013 season in the beautiful coastal mountains outside of Chilliwack, BC with round one of the CXCC West. The Greater Vancouver Motorcycle club has a long, storied history of running events in this area and this year marked the 65th running of thier famous Piston Run. The course was over 30 km long and featured tight mountain trails and some very steep elevation changes. It was a course that demanded respect from the competitors.

This year was a record turn out for the Piston Run with over 155 entries. Part of this can be attributed to the 35 riders from Alberta and the 5 American riders who made the trip.

In the Pro Class KTM’s Bobby Prochau let his competitors he was once again the man to beat in 2013. After getting off to a good start he opened up a small lead that stretched to just over five minutes after four hours of racing. Honda’s Jason Schrage worked his way into second after getting around KTM’s Geoff Nelson who managed to hold off the CGRT Husaberg riders Ben Rego and Shane Cuthbertson. The top three riders finished thier third lap just before the three hour time limit and had to go out for a fourth lap which kept them racing at full speed for just under four hours. Talk about stamina.

At the podium presentation there where a number of prize give aways courtesy of National Sponsors – Royal Distributing, Parts Canada, Emperor Racing, Red Bull, and Mongoose Racing (Rekluse). In addition to these sponsors World Enduro Canada and the event organizers would like to thank the Premium level sponsors – Honda Canada, Yamaha Canada and KTM for all thier support in making this National Cross Country event a success.

Full results and championship points standings will be available on our site shortly.

1. Bobby Prochnau (KTM)
2. Jason Schrage (Honda)
3. Geoff Nelson (KTM)

1. Aaron Richardson
2. Chris Sorokovsky
3. Steve Geary

1. Al Wilson
2. Scott Kinakin
3. Wayne Reimer

1. Victoria Hett
2. Bradon Adams
3. Caelan Trustham

1. Brian Dick
2. Glenn Labby
3. Tim Agar

1. Stephen Bearss
2. Aaron York
3. Andy Marr

1. Rodney Katchen
2. Doug Hanghofer
3. Blake Weiss

1. Tony Allen
2. Andrew Christianson
3. Tom Williams

1. Scott Peppin
2. Evan Tudor Jones
3. Quentin Volansky

1. Jesse Katchen
2. Chasen McKenna
3. Adam Welti

1. Bree Taber
2. Allison Brown
3. Laura Katchen

This e-mail and any attachments contain information property of World Enduro Canada and are intended solely for the use by the named recipient or recipients. This e-mail and any attachments may contain confidential/privileged information. Any dissemination of this e-mail by anyone other than an intended recipient is strictly prohibited. If you are not a named recipient, you are prohibited from any further viewing of this e-mail and any attachments or from making any use of this e-mail and any attachments. If you believe you have received this e-mail by error, notify the sender immediately and permanently delete this e-mail, any attachments, and all copies thereof from any drives or storage media and destroy any printouts of this